Home History The Museum 514 Squadron Royal Engineers Plan your visit Events Shop Friends Educational visits New town Links Contact us
Waterbeach Military  Heritage Museum

Waterbeach Barracks Denny End Road Waterbeach
Cambridge
CB25 9PA

+44(0)1223861846

Opening times

Air crews standing in front of a Lancaster bomber

Interior view of the museum

Waterbeach Military Heritage Museum

RAF Waterbeach station was built between 1940 and 1941 for the wartime use of RAF Bomber Command. After the war, a variety of RAF Transport and Fighter Command units occupied the airfield.

In 1966, the airfield was handed over to the Royal Engineers, who remained until their move to Scotland in 2012. Waterbeach Barracks finally closed in 2013.

Many of the hangars and other RAF buildings, including the Control Tower, still exist, although they have - in most cases - been substantially modified over the years.

Waterbeach Military Heritage Museum was opened in 2016. Three rooms in the museum are devoted to the Royal Air Force. Much of the collection material has been donated by former members of
514 Squadron, who still have their annual reunion in Waterbeach. A restored Lancaster bomber, flanked by a Hurricane and a Spitfire, often fly over the airfield and village during these reunions. Two rooms in the museum are devoted to the Royal Engineers.

The museum is dedicated to preserving Waterbeach’s military heritage, and displays a fascinating collection of objects, photographs, and memorabilia.

In 2014 the Defence Infrastructure Organisation announced that Urban&Civic would be taking forward the development of the site. The military and other heritage of the site and its surroundings will play a prominent role in the developing future designs for the former RAF station.